Solo Travelling? Why Not!

Have you ever had the urge to travel somewhere but couldn’t find anyone to accompany you?

If yes, why don’t you try going solo?

Well the idea going to unknown places alone can be a little bit terrifying, but trust me, it’s not that bad. Having lived abroad as a loner for the past year, I have done solo traveling several times myself. I gotta admit that it’s fun indeed!

Was I scared? Heck yes!

But here’s a list why you should consider having a solo trip:

  • You’re free to go wherever you want and whenever you like. You want to spend the whole day munching Pierre Hermé macarons instead of taking corny pictures in front of eiffel tower? Sure you can do it.
  • You can eat anything, and by anything I mean including those nasty looking local food without having to worry your travel companion will get sick.
  • You can stop whenever you’re feeling tired or you want to take photograph or cute-looking kids with their good-looking daddy. As someone who takes tons of photos during a trip, I can say that this is a HUGE benefit.
  • You are more likely to talk to people during your trip, be it local people or other traveler. And yeah it’s kinda fun. When I went to Granada, I met this spanish couple who were very nice. Besides, you get to have someone take your photo for you :p

Sure there’s a downturn in everything. For instance, it’s hard to take photo of yourself. It can also be lonely at times. But I can assure you that there are many other positive things about going for a solo trip and if I continue the list I’ll bore you to death. All in all, just give it a try once, see if you like it. You can go somewhere you’ve known if you’re scared. There’s no harm done in trying.

And hey, I don’t take any responsibilities if you’re addicted to it! Consider you’ve been warned :p

Me and A Spanish Lady I Met in Granada

Leave a comment